Slow Down

Tonight was one of those days that I was exhausted from the constant interaction and tugging on me. The whining and the “mama” being called all day. I needed a moment not to be touched or called. A moment of peace. After the night time dogpile on top of mom. I managed to crawl out from under the sleeping bodies and move them to their beds. I surfed my phone as I was about to let my mind veg out and I saw the video linked.(http://youtu.be/clcNB_EUao8)

Well suddenly my heart stopped and I replayed the day through different eyes. I realize how hard it is to appreciate these moments when you haven’t had alone time, but it’s something I will be more conscious of. Every mom knows these days and also knows the beauty of watching this life that beat out millions of sperm (yes I said that), to develop in the womb for 10months, and finally be delivered healthy and alive. From there, there are daily challenges and worries and at times it seems all we can do is simply “keep them alive today”. However the miracle and beauty of a life made in God’s image, yet reflective of you and your spouse and your ancestors, is one that keeps one in awe and is quite humbling when you really put it into context. This life is here to continue to do great things and we are equipping them with the tools. Life is fleeting, and as we get caught up in the routine we forget how quickly it will pass.

“Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” ‭James‬ ‭4:14‬ ‭NIV‬‬
“For who knows what is good for a person in life, during the few and meaningless days they pass through like a shadow? […]. ‭‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭6:12‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Take time to see your day through different eyes. We will be looking back at what use to happen with these kids, way too soon.

Source of video: http://rare.us/story/millions-of-moms-are-calling-this-the-most-beautiful-song-they-have-ever-heard/

Leave a Reply

