1,2…3

“Sunshine, come here. Let me clip your nails,” I said.

She laughs hysterically as she tries to run across the bed. 

“I’m tired of being scratched. One…” I begin my countdown.

“Two…”she continues.

My husband laughs. “I just listened to someone talk about parents like you that count. One, two, two and a half…” He mocks as he laughs.

“Whatever, it works. Besides she’s only  18 months old…” I reason as he continues to laugh. 

I turn back to Sunshine and hear, “5…” with her hand in the air. She never stopped counting. 

Well it works most days.

Leave a Reply

